2013- Spicing it up!

First off I want to say HAPPY NEW YEARS! I know I’m a little late, but….better late than never. J So have you made a new year’s resolution, and have you kept it so far? One of my resolutions for 2013 is to go on a date with my husband once a month.  I know what you are thinking, “Seriously that’s a resolution?” But you will understand when I tell you that the last “date” we went on was over six months ago! Our fourteen month son, Jameson, goes everywhere with us (and I love it)! However, I do believe that some good ole quality grown up time is healthy.

January 7th we made our eighth wedding anniversary! YAY! We went out to celebrate at one of our new favorite restaurants Apoline on Magazine Street.  It is a renovated shotgun double cottage turned into a brassiere, serving cuisine made from local ingredients but flavors from around the world.  We always get the scallops (they are too good to want to try anything else).  Before we ate I handed Robbie his present.  He was blushing in an awkward, embarrassing way because the present was  wrapped in “our bag”(a baseball bag that was once bright and crisp but now faded and over thirteen years old).  Ever since our first year of dating we have done this tradition so I don’t know why he thought it would be different this year.  In the bag he pulled out twelve sealed envelopes labeled monthly from January to December.  In each envelope is a date night for us such as, well they are secrets shhhh….But I put fun things in them such as entertainment events, movie tickets, bowling night, bar of his choice, etc. I am really excited about this! Typically I keep my resolution until about February but this year we are going ALL THE WAY!

Thirteen year old gift bag

Thirteen year old gift bag

wedding

Newly Weds

always has a stick or ball in hand

always has a stick or ball in hand

IMG_0514

Cheesy Smile!

IMG_0513

Cooking up some grass

