Nursing in Public…Will You Cover Up?

Hooter Hiders

by LEANNE

Between trips to the mall, grocery store and dining out, every mother finds herself needing to feed her baby while she’s out.  If you’re nursing, you have some decisions to make, as if you haven’t already made enough!  Will you pump a bottle for your daily outings?  Will you nurse wherever you are?  Will you find a private room?  Will you use a nursing cover?

With my first baby, I was a little more hesitant to nurse in public places.  I used a cover but was inexperienced and fearful of being exposed.  I eventually overcame my nerves, and I don’t think twice about it now.  I personally feel that it’s a very natural part of being a mother, but it is better for me if I cover up.  Here’s my cover of choice…

My Cover - Hooter Hiders Kyoto

Many women do choose to nurse in public without any covering.  I had a friend who was in the middle of conducting a parent/teacher conference and the parent began to openly breastfeed her baby.  My friend wasn’t necessarily offended but felt that it would have been more appropriate for the parent to excuse herself and return when she was finished.  Some would say this never should have happened and others would say that it shouldn’t be a problem at all.  Please share your thoughts!

If you do decide to breastfeed and also make the decision to cover up, Baby Bump Maternity has some very stylish options.  You can purchase Bebe Au Lait and Hooter Hiders at the shop today!

Hooter Hiders in Siena

Bebe Au Lait Gift Set in Mint Chocolate

